Also big in Ireland…

I had several detailed, intricate and thoughtful posts stored up in my memory. They’re still there, but they’ll have to wait a while because somebody has, rather carelessly, left a ship by a beach. I once left my keys in the freezer. Nobody tried to steal them but, like big boats in shallow water, keys in the freezer are not a great idea.

As is inevitable in such situations I’ve been running round yelling words into a microphone such as: ‘The boat is right behind me. I can see lights on,’ and, ‘It’s chaos. I’ve just passed a man with a large and very full sack.’

I’ve also been interviewed by radio stations in New Zealand and Ireland. I probably made sense, although I did nearly drop off at my desk earlier.

Tomorrow, like a Devonian Mercury, I’ll be running around the seafront with a microphone again. I’ll stop short of swimming out to the wreck though, on the basis that it’s bloody cold and I’m not a very strong swimmer.

I’m sure this wouldn’t have happened had it been the Argo.

3 Responses to “Also big in Ireland…”


  1. 1 cycleofsong January 24, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    I’m torn between two comments:

    Something about Santa Claus.

    And wondering if the man with sack was looting the boxes of dangerous chemicals?

  2. 2 Linda January 26, 2007 at 3:29 pm

    I’m also torn between two comments, either:

    If you seen anyone else with a full sack, please send him my way.

    And:

    Good luck with the new blog, it’s looking great. 🙂

    How did it feel being interviewed?

  3. 3 garyandrews January 26, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    It wouldn’t have surprised me if they were carrying away dangerous chemicals. Litterally, whatever people couldget their hands on, they did. It was much like the Next January sale, only outdoors.

    Linda: Thanks, glad you like it! It was very odd being interviewed – I was so busy I was typing my scripts out between answers, but was also kind of fun. I never thought anybody on the other sideof the globe would have been remotely interested in what I had to say, I was wrong.

    It’s really sad to see what’s happened to Branscombe though – it was a lovely, picturesque hidden gem of a coastal village. Now it resembles a building site – and I can already see one of those out of my window.


Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

