You really won’t buy into this

A curious advertising flyer was left on my car windscreen.

“GENUINE JANUARY SALE” it screamed, as shrill as a Daily Express headline.

I am confused. Does this mean all previous sales by this company were fake? Or are they implying none of the competitors are actually engaging in the price reductions they claim to be?

It reminds me of a similar sign in the window of a bed company I used to pass frequently in Cardiff. It advertised “Genuine next day delivery.” Are bed companies so unreliable in Wales that this fact needed to be advertised? [1]

It’s quite astonishing, and just a little bit brazen, that we’re being sold something on the basis of yes, this will actually happen. In the old days you’d walk into a store in January and, lo, there would be the sale. Now it’s advisable to check that they’re not lying, apparently.

And, more to the point, who actually uses the word genuine these days apart from Frederick Forsyth?

[1] If this was a plumber I could well believe it. It’s been 2 weeks and my taps still aren’t working. I should have known he was no good. He didn’t sigh, tut and shake his head when examining the bathroom.

1 Response to “You really won’t buy into this”


  1. 1 doctorvee January 27, 2007 at 1:21 am

    This reminds me of those old tins of Quality Street or whatever from the 1950s. Written in big type would be, “VERY GOOD”. As if they would say their sweets were total rubbish!


Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

