If you were at Dorchester South train station, I hope you didn’t get shot

Had a few texts earlier from Matthew, which are worth repeating:

“Er, armed guard just turned up at our train station, waiting for a connection. Like fully armed. Something big is going on, helicopters, tactical units, the lot, the full works. And it’s a TINY station. Argh!”

Then:

“Dorchester South. Tiny place in Dorset. Madness. Something bad’s happened on a train waiting to come in. Machine guns, everything. I’ve got a camera.”

The only thing I previously knew about Dorchester was some toilets in the town won an award, and their Christmas lights aren’t meant to be very good. Finally:

“This is AWESOME. Why do these things happen near me? I’m gonna video it, if the train comes in.”

To be fair, Matt is one of the few people I know who is more likely than not to get inadvertently caught up in an international terrorist incident.

He then rang. He told me he heard an armed officer say: “We’ve got a visual.” I informed him I’d also just been told there’s was a chance Moira Stewart was dressed as a ninja on TV. He said he’d keep me informed, I went to have a quick look on the net.

About five minutes later, another phone call. The police had got bored and left.

Expect video and picture aplenty from the good doctor, if he manages to get back from Dorset in one piece.

3 Responses to “If you were at Dorchester South train station, I hope you didn’t get shot”


  1. 1 Matt March 17, 2007 at 2:53 am

    fucking terrorists

  2. 2 Matt March 17, 2007 at 11:44 am

    Right.

    Fairly sure it was to do with this now:

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/hampshire/6461437.stm

    In fact it must’ve been. Wareham’s the connection to Swanage, and isn’t so far from Dorchester – they missed him by a couple of station stops.

  3. 3 Matt March 17, 2007 at 11:46 am

    Er, don’t know if the last comment published properly, so I’ll write it again.

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/hampshire/6461437.stm

    Was to do with this, we think. They must’ve missed him by a couple of stops since Wareham’s the connection to Swanage, and a couple away from Dorchester South, where we were.


Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

