Modern life is rubbish

I’ve texted a friend to check it’s ok to ring at a certain time, then for their land line number as I forgot to save it into my phone and they don’t have good signal coverage.

In some respects life was a lot simpler pre-mobiles.

3 Responses to “Modern life is rubbish”


  1. 1 cerimorgan March 26, 2007 at 10:06 pm

    Last Thursday i left my phone at home for the whole day by accident.

    By the evening i had at least five arsey messages from my big sister who was in a mood with me for not replying, texts from six of my friends saying they were all going for a big lunch down the bay, and would i like to come? Yes of course i would have liked to come, godammit. I had also missed a message from my housemate reminding me to get a Comeplay ticket before they sold out. Predictably, i couldn’t get one when i went back. My social calender for the next week was shattered as a result!

    Moral of the story? Mobile phones are EVIL.

  2. 2 garyandrews March 26, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    Going out is over rated any way :p Well, it is if you’re trying to budget.

    Depressingly I left my phone at home the other day and I had precisely NO texts or missed calls, which is almost as bad. I never felt like a social pariah when I had to rely on the landline.

    And similarly a friend was on Dartmoor, where there was no signal. Upon getting off the moor they had 3 messages: 1 a general ‘hi, how are you message’, the next checking everything was ok because because they hadn’t had a reply, the final one somewhat panicked because still no reply was forthcoming.

    Via text, I’m trying to organise a meal out for friends this weekend. About 3 quarters of the way in I realised how much easier life would have been had I just bloody well picked up the phone and rang.


  1. 1 Mobile phones: still stupid « Gary Andrews Trackback on March 27, 2007 at 10:48 pm

Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

