We are Sky. We have a helicopter. We are NEWS!

Andrew Marr takes a sideswipe at Sky, saying they’re “frequently right”.

There’s a lot to admire about Sky, especially if you want multi-angle coverage plus an almost frenetic feel to it. If Baz Luhrmann was a news channel, this would be it.

But, on the few occasions I’ve reported on items that have made it onto the rolling news channels, Sky have invariably got something wrong, or rushed something to air without necessarily checking, before correcting later. That’s not to say News 24 haven’t either, albeit less frequently.

That’s also not to say I haven’t either in the past. Breaking news stories are notoriously difficult to cover, and I reckon its rare any broadcast journalist will get it 100% right if they’ve got regular bulletins or live reports to feed.

But – and this is only on a few occasions, so is a completely unrepresentative sample – every story I’ve worked on there’s always one instance of them snapping with something I’ve left alone, on the basis there’s a very good chance it won’t be accurate. Of the four instances I could think of, once they were right, the other three the story either veered off elsewhere or the information had to be clarified.

I could certainly see their reasoning for running all four, though, and I wouldn’t go as far as to call two of them bad judgment calls. So I’d say Andrew Marr’s frequently right here.

0 Responses to “We are Sky. We have a helicopter. We are NEWS!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

