Exeter City take over the world

Or at least another corner of teh interweb. Pete Evans is now blogging at The Times Fanzone Fanzine on his experiences as an Exeter City supporter. I would call it the highs and lows of supporting The Grecians, but they’re pretty much the same thing. Still, it’s nice that national newspapers aren’t now mentioning Uri Gellar in the same breath as Exeter.

I don’t particularly like Uri, for reasons I won’t go into.

Anyway, it’s a very good piece. Do read. Pete’s personal, Exeter City slanted blog is here.

You may also want to read my latest Soccerlens piece as well, if that’s your bag of gravy.

2 Responses to “Exeter City take over the world”


  1. 1 Peter Evans March 5, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Thanks Gary!

    You have reasons for disliking Uri more than your average Exeter fan? I was browsing a football quotes book yesterday in town and the only city quote was….Uri Geller!!!

    If have any good ideas for articles for the Times blog do get in touch, will probably need all the help i can get!

  2. 2 Gary Andrews March 5, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    No worries mate, it’s always good to see City stuff in the national press. And ditto, if you’ve got any idea for a soccerlens piece, as I know my inspiration’s gonna run dry at some point.

    Why do I dislike Uri… well, it’s not just because he introduced Pinky and Perky to the club and hastened our decent into the bowels of non-league. There’s also the small matter of the cash the promised to whoever could save ECFC, yet steadfastly refused to pay up once the supporters’ trust did just that, possibly because he’d got the hump after the trust wouldn’t hand him an unelected position.

    Then there’s the media whoring appearances. Once he was ousted as co-chairman (a position he never actually held, according to Companies House) he only turned up to Woking away, because he knew there were TV cameras.

    Plus he turned our club into a laughing stock. Jackson, Blaine, cosmic crystals et al.

    There’s a couple of other things that I can’t air in a public forum, but I’ll email you about. But suffice to say, whenever I see Gellar getting quoted with regard to ECFC, it makes me a tad irritable. He’s nothing to do with the club anymore and hasn’t been for getting on five years. Anybody who reaches for his number to get an ECFC quote is a lazy journalist in my book.

    The odd thing is, I always got the impression Dan Gellar was a genuine fan, but daren’t show his face because of his old man.


Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

