Occasions I’m glad not to be a news reporter

I can guarantee I would have been sent out at some godawful hour to the Devon coast in the driving wind and rain to do a few two-ways on today’s bad weather.

Breaking news and live two-ways were something I enjoyed doing. Getting soaked wasn’t. Sometimes I get pangs of nostalgia for reporting, but watching the 24 news channels today wasn’t one of them. I feel the frostbite of all the reporters I saw standing near cliffs getting buffeted by the elements, but I’m quite happy to be curled up in the warm today rather than running around with a microphone.

2 Responses to “Occasions I’m glad not to be a news reporter”


  1. 1 cerimorgan March 10, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Guess who was stood shivering in the lashing rain at some godawful hour, waiting for a stricken tanker to be brought safely into port today?

    You don’t know what you’re missing, up there in Londinium.

    I may have dried out by this time next week.

  2. 2 Gary Andrews March 10, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    Ouch. I hope you had a good long soak when you got back home. I’m been in similar situations many a time. Mostly that bloody Napoli.

    Get dry soon.


Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

