This is the redesigned news

As a creature of habit, I don’t usually react well to redesigns of sites I regularly visit. Normally bleary eyed, I click on the URL and go ‘Waaaaagghhh it looks horrible’ and cower beneath my keyboard, vowing to perhaps, if I have time and it’s really not too much of a problem, you know, to possibly write a mildly miffed letter to those responsible.

After a couple of days, I usually decide it’s not so bad, and by the end of the week I’ve completely forgotten what the old site looked like.

I suspect that will happen with the BBC News redesign. At the moment I don’t like it. It looks like they’ve just used the tool to make it wider and added in lots of white. I liked the deep red. It was a cosy colour. White has nothing and leaves me both cold and scared.

But, even so, it does look like an early internet design – the kind of thing sites were doing about five years ago. And how does the design translate into mobile browsing?

So, yes, I don’t like it at the moment. I’ll probably forget I’ve even written this mildly miffed critique by the end of the week though.

14 Responses to “This is the redesigned news”


  1. 1 Matt March 31, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    It’s shit. I hate it. I’m deleting BBC News from my internets.

  2. 2 Matt March 31, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    ALSO: Yay! I can comment!

  3. 3 David North March 31, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    Come on – it’s a huge improvement so much easier to read and surely that’s important for a news website?

    800 x 600 is soooooo 1999! Use my browser space better!

  4. 4 Gary Andrews March 31, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    Yes, yes, you’re right. I’m just being my usual grouchy ‘ohmygodthislooksdifferentwhatthehellisgoingontheworldisabouttoend’ self when confronted with something I wasn’t expecting.

    I have a feeling when I get home tonight and look at it on my MacBook, I’ll appreciate it a lot more.

    It still feels a little, um, I dunno. I liked the Guardian redesign straight away. This probably takes a bit more getting used to.

    As I said, by the end of the week I’ll have forgotten why I don’t like it in the first place.

  5. 5 Gary Andrews March 31, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    Oh, now that’s weird Matt. David’s comments appeared an age ago. Yours have only just turned up.

    And hurrah – comments are finally fixed. It’s only been, what, two years? Go me!

  6. 6 Matt March 31, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    Seems Dave and I were posting simultaneously. But yes, it’s nice to be able to say things. I’m actually finding it harder to read, too, Dave – though that could be my own browser settings.

    Gary – Facebook are launching their redesign soon. It’s going POLARISE THE WORLD.

  7. 7 Gary Andrews March 31, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    It looks much better on Safari than it does in IE. Which goes to prove how utterly rubbish IE is.

  8. 8 David North April 1, 2008 at 11:20 am

    I see what you are saying Gary – it does take a bit to get used to it.

    Facebook redesign? That’s the first I’ve heard – I’m looking forward to that! What’s the betting that it’s unbelievably bland?

  9. 9 Matt April 1, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Apparently it’ll be a lot more along the lines of the way it’s set out on iPhones. Here’s the link đŸ™‚

    http://www.facebook.com/FacebookPreviews

  10. 10 Dan April 1, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    Can’t say I like the low-contrast grey body text (rather than black). Or the wider pages having less links (only one instead of two in the “Around the…” sections). And it has 350 html markup errors, which must be some kind of record!

    Liked the deep, warm red too.

  11. 11 Dan April 2, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Also another (rather smaller!) website was overhauled at the weekend — wordpress.org (I think wordpress.com got the same treatment too). The new design matches that of the new admin interface for the WordPress software (do you see it with hosted wordpress.com blogs?).

    Reaction to those new designs has been overwhelmingly positive as the look and function better than what went before. I love ’em. They were designed by usability experts at HappyCog.

    The problem with the new BBC news is that it looks sh*t and does less than the old site. What’s to like?

  12. 12 Matt April 2, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    I’m obviously a fickle bugger, I might add. I don’t really mind it any more.

  13. 13 Gary Andrews April 2, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    I’m still not mad keen on it, but I’m getting more immune.

    Oddly, it only seems to look really terrible in Internet Explorer. Safari and Firefox are ok. I don’t use Opera, so I’ve no idea how that stands up.

    It’s one of those things I’ll get used to without ever really liking. A bit like shaving, really.

  14. 14 Gary Andrews April 2, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    And, Dan, yes. Most places seem to be able to redesign with too much fuss. The very fact so many people, and it appears not just the usual ‘change is bad’ brigade’, don’t like it isn’t great.


Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

