And he would do anything for hits…

My colleague Ben Ayers posted the amusing viral Meatloaf pie chart on his blog two days ago. It sent his traffic through the roof – 13,000 hits and counting and nearly 50 comments, something that was quite unexpected and way beyond what he’d normally get.

Interestingly, according to Ben, a lot of his hits came through StumbleUpon, which is a site I’ve never really used but might well start taking an interest in.

What Meatloaf’s desire for love on Ben’s blog shows, though, is a couple of things:

1. It’s quite difficult for an individual blogger to predict what may hit the bigtime. Yesterday’s post on here on VoteMatch sent traffic high, which may well be because of the trackback on Liberal Conspiracy. But it’s sometimes the most surprising posts that prove bafflingly popular.

2. It shows the increasing value of social bookmarking sites like stumbleupon, Digg, delicious, Reddit and Mixx. 13,000 is more that some news stories from well-known sites can pick up in a day. Any news or media site that doesn’t give users the chance to social bookmark their pages could really lose out.

(This is in no way trying to piggyback off some of Ben’s traffic đŸ˜‰ And if any traffic does wander this way as a result of his very popular post, I think it’s fair exchange for all the tea I’ve made him. Much like feudal bartering. Swop you a cuppa, one sugar, for some web 2.0 social bookmarking traffic? Deal, guv’nor.)

4 Responses to “And he would do anything for hits…”


  1. 1 David North April 8, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    Wow I’m impressed 13,000 visits just for a lame joke (although I must admit I laughed)!

    Trackbacks have given me quite a bit of traffic. I’ve only had a blog going for a couple of weeks and I’ve got most of my traffic from a GoogleBlog post I linked to!

    I’m constantly glued to Google Analytics to see where the traffic is coming from – very interesting how sites organically spread. Also it’s pretty obvious that blogs propagate a whole lot quicker than standard websites.

  2. 2 Matt April 8, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Somebody put one of my posts on StumbleUpon quite recently and yeah, the hits come in quite fast. I also had an account on some older version of Firefox and my housemate thought it’d be funny to Stumble a bunch of posts that were otherwise crap. From my hedgedefender account. Grr.

    You’re right, though. It’s impossible to predict traffic. Remember the incident of Internetoloper.exe?! I still get the odd hit for that – and always from some sort of IT monitoring IP. I’m obviously still regarded as an e-terrorist.

    And now I’ve mentioned it here you’ll get some hits too. HA.

  3. 3 chris white April 8, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    I seem to get quite a few from something called Keywordspy, and wonder whether this should worry me.

  4. 4 Matt April 8, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Definitely. That sounds like Echelon, Chris. You’re *such* a terrorist.


Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

