Facebook wants you to have more friends

Today I logged into Facebook to be confronted with a series of suggested friends, many of whom were friends of friends, or several mutual friends in common.

On one hand, you can see the logic in this. You may have missed somebody who you didn’t know was on Facebook, or there may be somebody in there who is useful to add for work/social life purposes. It isn’t called social networking for nothing.

On the other hand, there are people who I’ve specifically not added, despite having many friends in common. It’s not that I don’t like them, I’m just quite picky when it comes to accepting friend requests. If they then add me, that puts me in a slightly awkward position.

Also, there’s another privacy issues here. I know Facebook have revamped their privacy settings, but how many people have taken the time to properly learn and make the most of them. Chances are there are a few people you don’t want anywhere near you on Facebook, or finding out too much about you. This little add-on makes that a little easier.

I still get a lot out of Facebook and can see plenty of uses for it, but I’m fast coming to the conclusion that they should offer a privacy tutorial. This at least gives users a more informed option as to how to handle the privacy settings on their account. At least that way you’re not forcing them into a profile lockdown, while alerting them to the potential dangers (and I use the word dangers loosely; it’s certainly not meant in the political or media hysteria sense) of having so much personal information available to all and sundry.

[Elsewhere: Sorry for lack of stuff on here. Busy. Work. Football. Will. Post. More. Interesting. Stuff. Soon.]

1 Response to “Facebook wants you to have more friends”



  1. 1 Finding Value in Social Networks » The Buzz Bin Trackback on April 16, 2008 at 5:07 pm

Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

