On being racially abused

A very strange occurance the other night. I was standing outside the tube station, sheltering from the rain and deciding whether to make a run for the house and get soaked when a man walked up to me.

“That’s the problem with you fucking Poles. Can handle a bit of British weather. Fuck off back to where you came from.”

There are many things about my appearance I’ve been commented on. Looking Eastern European has never been one of them.

I was tired. I was irritable. I was going to get very wet as the rain was getting harder. And that probably explains why I replied: “Do I sound fucking Polish.”

The man looked a little stunned. “Oh, that’s alright. If you was Polish, I’d have given you what for.” And with that, he walked off leaving me a little confused, and a bit guilty for not saying I actually quite like every Polish person I’ve ever met.

2 Responses to “On being racially abused”


  1. 1 Will May 3, 2008 at 8:57 am

    If you like being racially abused so much, why don’t you go live there?

    Isn’t Poland even colder and rainier than here? What a c*nt.

    http://ifyoulikeitsomuchwhydontyougolivethere.com/

  2. 2 Gary Andrews May 3, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    I’ve never actually been to Poland. I’d quite like to go one day, providing no planes are involved.

    Oddly I was once chatted up by a Polish girl. The line she used was: “Guess what country I’m from?”

    “Germany?”

    “No, try again. We were invaded by Hitler.”

    The more I think about it, the more I think about it, the more I really should have said something. I was just a bit stunned. And tired. And tipsy.


Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

