Seesmic and the temple of fandom

Could this be the moment I finally embrace Seesmic to my man boobs? The PR for Indiana Jones have done a bit where Seesmic users could post video questions for Spielberg and the films stars and get an answer. As a marketing tool, it’s a fantastic idea and creates a great buzz from the online community, and more specifically fandom. If, as a teenager, I ever thought there would be a point where I could get to ask Steven Spielberg a question and he’d reply, I’d have been way beyond cloud nine. Probably nearer to cloud 57 or something.

Up to this point, I’d got what Seesmic did and how it could be used, but had no real wish to sign up, partly because this would involve exposing my face to the world and frankly I don’t want to crack anymore computer screens than necessary (I worked in radio for a reason, mmm’kay).

So, as a non-user, I’d only paused to consider how it could be used for PR and journalism purposes and had filed it somewhere in the back of my mind to explore at a later day. This has brought it back firmly to the forefront on my mind (note to self: remember to eat. This shouldn’t be done at the expense of food).

Creating an online buzz is just as important as traditional methods of PR these days and Seesmic could be an important part of this. The fanboy in me would love the chance to get to speak to some of my heroes, even just via video, and as a communication tool it feels a lot more personal than Twitter. Similarly, the chance to put a question direct in video to some of the top bods always quoted in press releases is very tempting, and opens up the company, personalising whatever is being promoted.

Similarly, it’s something any journalist should be looking at with interest. Video blogging is something I’ve always been a little bit skeptical on newspaper sites, but if there’s a conversation going on around a major, or interesting story… now that’s a little more like it. And the fact that many other users are posting comments in their pyjamas may loosen up hacks who’re not used to facing the camera. The potential for engaging directly with your audience is immense and could possibly do more than arbitrary video-for-video’s sake that many traditional media seem so fond of doing online.

Now all I’ve got to do is get beyond my utter dislike (not fear, just an extreme dislike) of seeing my face on screen before I hit the sign-up button.

0 Responses to “Seesmic and the temple of fandom”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

