Tea goes Web 2.0

This is one of the reasons why I love the internet. A while ago, somebody on the A Cup of Tea Solves Everything Facebook group proposed members meet up for afternoon tea in London. Somebody else then proposed a rolling global tea party for those who couldn’t get to London, and indeed didn’t even live in the UK.

So, I blogged about it because it seemed like a rather lovely idea and, frankly, any excuse for a good cuppa. Since then, I seem to have weekly inbound links coming in from a variety of blogs around the world, all highlighting the worldwide tea party.

Now as the date – June 28th – approaches, I’m getting even more hits on my original blog post as people look to find out more information.

What I find rather lovely about all this, is all started from one person’s suggestion on an active Facebook community and now seems to have gone far larger than anybody could have predicted. One person’s already taking about it raise money for the victims of the Burma cyclone.

Even a few years ago, this wouldn’t have been possible. And it’s why I love social media and Web 2.0 tools. Nothing was done to promote it, it’s just taken a life of its own.

So, if you’ve come her for info on the global tea party, the Facebook group and the two original threads are the best places to find out more.

And after all that, I need a cup of tea.

0 Responses to “Tea goes Web 2.0”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

