No more Late Night Love

Anybody who’s grown up listening to commercial radio in the last decade will probably be familiar with Late Night Love, the rather cheesy relationship phone-in programme hosted by Graham Torrington. Networked across GCap’s commercial stations, it was like a cross between Jeremy Kyle and Radio 1’s Sunday Surgery presented by your embarrassing uncle and with the kind of people on the phone lines who most definitely should never have kids.

Needless to say it was, in equal measures, cringeworthy yet somehow brilliant.

When people found out I used to work in radio, one of the first questions I was always asked was “Do you know Graham Torrington?” Sadly, as the show was networked, I never got to meet the great man.

Which makes today’s announcement that Late Night Love is to be axed to be replaced by a new music show somewhat baffling. The show had fantastic brand recognition, even among non-GCap listeners. It retained a charm and distinctiveness in the world of commercial radio that few other shows had.

I have no idea what the show’s listener figures was like. Perhaps it had become the radio equivalent of Top Of The Pops – well loved by those who remembered it, but with an audience that had moved on, and was no longer culturally relevant in a digital world. Perhaps it was time to put the show out of its misery, as you would do to a family pet.

But even if that was the case, it still feels like a small part of the radio world has died today. Something that was different, irreverent and fun, and quite different from anything else on the air.

Perhaps, on the other hand, it just didn’t fit with GCap’s vision for the future. If so, it’s a very bold move. Hopefully it will be replaced with something just as distinctive because, while there are some talented DJs working in local radio, the last thing commercial stations need is another indistinguishable music show. Or perhaps I’m missing the point, and that’s exactly what it needs.

8 Responses to “No more Late Night Love”


  1. 1 Dan June 17, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    Has someone lost the plot!! No more Torrington?! I was only listening on Thursday and he had a sore throat so couldn’t speak!

    I honestly thought he was seriously ill or something, then came across this blog.

    Whilst I am not an emotionally closed off individual, I did somehow like this show and found it quite entertaining! Especially when there was a commercial break coming up, he would make alot of noise about being fired if he didn’t take the break!

    Living here in Spain has it’s pros. and cons. However, I have to say, whilst not an avid listener, it did make me feel like I was back home in the UK !! That little piece of the UK in my very own home!

    Well Graham, i’ve gotta say, the show was pure genius! How, I don’t know, but reading this news has left me with the feeling that something great has been lost! Whats next to go? Big Brother? Well, maybe we can lose that one!

    Good luck & best wishes Graham!

  2. 3 Dannielle July 24, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    GET GRAHAM BACK!!!!!!!!! HE WAS GREAT AND ITS CRAP NOT WITHOUT HIM !!

  3. 4 Simon B August 28, 2008 at 2:48 am

    As a night trucker in the Uk, I was unaware that late night love has been pulled. So I had struggled to find it on the air in different areas as I travel. I began to feel that something was wrong when I kept finding this “wind down” show.
    In my opinion, they have pulled the plug on a show that was different and interesting. In that people would phone in with all sorts of issues and others could call in and either agree or rip into them. So some nights this could be quite heavy listerning as people argued live online..

    I have listerned to it’s replacement and it is just some other female DJ playing music with no particular focus. A nothing special show that merges in to the majority!.
    I hope G. Torrington appears else where and maybe has a similar show, hosted by a station that sees the value of such a “different” show and it’s proven track record of many years.

  4. 5 jackie August 31, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    i think we need to get graham back on air he was brillinat and it was a good show


  1. 1 The future of (local) commercial radio « Gary Andrews Trackback on July 9, 2008 at 10:33 pm
  2. 2 invisalign Cleaner cvs Trackback on August 26, 2015 at 8:42 pm
  3. 3 braces 101 for adults Trackback on October 3, 2015 at 12:55 am

Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

