Mr Worstall

This may be one of the few times, perhaps the only time, I’ll ever come remotely close to endorsing UKIP. Uber-blogger Tim Worstall is looking to become the party’s MEP candidate for the London Region.

I’ve got a lot of time for Tim. He’s done as much as anybody to help shape the scape of the UK (political) blogosphere from his base in Portugal. He knows his economics and all parties could learn a lot from his writings, he’s very hot on civil liberties, and from the small amounts of contact I’ve had with him, and from his writings, I reckon he’d make an excellent MEP, MP, councillor, or whatever type of political representative he decided to stand for under whatever political banner.

However, there’s also a lot I disagree with UKIP on in general which I’ve not got time to go into, and normally I’d never even pause to consider their name in the voting booth. This time I’d certainly pause over Tim’s name even if I don’t think he’d vote for him. But those with politics slightly more in alignment with his should certainly consider him, assuming he’s selected.

I can’t ever imagine voting for UKIP, but I wouldn’t be upset if Tim got elected. If that makes sense.

3 Responses to “Mr Worstall”


  1. 1 Tim Worstall July 9, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    There have, I think, been stronger endorsements of a candidacy at other times and places.

    But an endorsement is indeed and endorsement, so thank you!

  2. 2 Andy J July 14, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    Hmm, BNP in blazers. I am saddened.

  3. 3 Tim Worstall July 15, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    Andy, if you think I have anything at all in common wth the BNP then I really do suggest that you sharpen up your reading skills.

    No, and thrice no.


Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

