Understanding Georgia

Hands up if you felt a bit inadequate at your knowledge of Caucus politics when the Russian-Georgian conflict suddenly erupted this week? Embarrassingly, for somebody who prides themselves on knowing a bit about what’s going on in the world generally, I really had no idea where it all kicked off from.

Sadly, any newspaper coverage just left me more confused. I could grasp the picture of what was happening, by and large. I just had no idea why it had happened, and that, to me, is equally if not more important. Even by upping my news consumption, I was still left a little bit in the dark.

So thank God for the internet, and more specifically, Nosemonkey’s EUtopia, who has provided excellent insight and content into the conflict. Sometimes I feel news organisations could learn a lot from the likes of Clive [1].

Granted, they’re unlikely to start admitting when they don’t know the exact reasons, or where there’s gaps in their knowledge, but it adds a lot to a good piece of analysis where the writer regularly links to blogs that know the subject better than the author, or have something to add to the analysis. Some columnists have got into this habit and I suspect they’ll be the ones who maintain a career long into the future.

Yet again, I’ve filled in the gaps in my knowledge not from the news but from the internet and expert bloggers. I’ve not even tried to search for the ‘what’ as well as the ‘why’ but it’d be interesting to see what’s been posted globally, not just for news but also censorship.

Normally wars are (he says, never have reported from a war zone) notoriously difficult to report from due to the restrictions imposed by the military on the media. But this is the first major conflict of international interest that’s been fought well and truly in the social media age.

It’d be an interesting hypothesis as to how different reporting on the Falklands War and Kosovo/Balkans would have been in the age of social media.

[If you find this kind of stuff fascinating, I can thoroughly recommend Phillip Knightley’s The First Casualty, which is a history and analysis of war reporting through the ages. Also, Evelyn Waugh’s Scoop, which should be compulsory reading each time a promising little war breaks out.]

[1] Although he does work in the media. What as, I’m not sure, but if he’s never been an official journalist in real life, I’ve always got the impression he’s as near as you’re likely to get without being one.

6 Responses to “Understanding Georgia”


  1. 1 Andrew Mickel August 12, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Silly Gary…

    Registan.net is always the best stop for Central Asia news (and their links are absolutely impeccable for further reading), and larussophobe.blogspot.com provides deeply biased (against Russian) reports that nonetheless does the best round-up about the country that I’ve seen.

    Also, since the BBC seem to have decided that yngling is more important than war, I’d shove on Euronews for the best broadcast news from there. You can get it through the ever-wonderful Zattoo.

  2. 2 Gary Andrews August 12, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    See, this is why t’interweb is great because people can share links to other sites I may have missed and chide me for missing these links. Yay for t’interweb!

    I gave up on the news channels very quickly for Georgia, although I’ve not had a chance to watch Channel 4 News since the story broke.

    Also, Mickel, what the hell is yngling? It sounds like a Welsh valleys town.

  3. 3 will jordan August 12, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Still no mention of Kosovo anywhere. When EU backed Kosovo independence against Russia’s wishes, Russia said it would start backing South Ossetian and Abkhazian independence, and boosted its troop numbers in SO. Apart from the gas issue, this is also about kicking the EU and the US in the nuts as revenge for Kosovo. Also shows up that if Russia decided to reclaim some of its old Soviet satellites, there’s not much the West could do, as it’s busy elsewhere.

  4. 4 Nosemonkey August 13, 2008 at 10:28 am

    Aren’t you sweet? I’m not much of an expert, though – I’m just halfway decent at speedy research and quick opinion-forming (postgrad History will do that for you).

    Work-wise, by the by, I’m freelance (writing, editing, subbing; books, magazines, papers, online, whatever). Will happily work for anyone who pays me. At the moment not really putting my talents to their best use, it must be said (though it does pay well…) – so if the Economist, IHT, BBC or someone wants to give me a job, I’d certainly be interested…

  5. 5 Nosemonkey August 13, 2008 at 10:42 am

    Yikes – there’s a smiley thing there. For the record: I had nothing to do with that, nor was it intended. (Horrible things)

  6. 6 Gary Andrews August 13, 2008 at 11:30 am

    Sometimes quick research and opinion forming is the best way – I’ve certainly learnt a lot over the last few days from the links and posts over at EUtopia.

    Plea to the Economist and others: please give Nosemonkey a job. I may even buy your magazine as a result.


Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

