Got me a movie, I want you to know

*Warning. Possibly incestuous London-Twitter-event-related post that’s probably of limited interest to regular readers who a) aren’t in London and b) don’t care about Twitter. For those, here’s an amusing cartoon of a cat to compensate for spending 4.57 seconds reading this preamble*

There’s plenty of London-based Twitter meetups (or Twit-ups, if you like): The Twestival, the Shoreditch Twit, the Dirty South Twit and probably a few others I don’t know about. Mostly, the involve chatting and drinking, meeting new friends, and generally having a good time.

Here’s an idea for a slightly different kind of Twit-up that has literally popped into my brain within the last hour. I’ve no idea how feasible it is, or if anybody would be interested, but I think it’s cool, so I’m blogging about it. Because that’s what bloggers do. We’re nothing if not self-obsessed and narcissistic.

The idea: A Twitter Film Club. Or Twitflix, as Ben suggested.

The premise: it’d be a bit like a book club. But with films. Once a month, give or take a few days or weeks here or here, films fans on Twitter meet up somewhere, probably in central London, maybe in a pub with a big screen, to watch a classic film, have a few drinks, then chat about it. And that’s about it really.

Well, maybe it could go a bit further. Maybe Twitflix could set up a blog or something where the screenings could be announced and then everybody could discuss the film, and the themes and whatnot and suggest further viewing of a similar nature.

I dunno, maybe it could ever be done on a Sunday afternoon, over a few pints, fitting in two showings of two films with similar themes and we could compare and contrast or something – films like, perhaps, The Conversation and The Lives of Others. Or American History X and This Is England. Or Heathers and Mean Girls. Or Sunset Boulevard and Barton Fink. Or Kind Hearts and Coronets and Dr. Strangelove (mainly because they’re both black comedies and have an actor playing a multiple role – other than that, it’s a little tenuous…).

Anyway, I’m just thinking (writing) off the top of my head here. I genuinely have no idea how feasible this is, or if anybody would be interested. It only popped into my mind as an idea as I was idly thinking of classic films I’d not yet watched.

Rambling idea over. Any takers?

(Remember, the first rule of film club is that you don’t talk about film club. The second rule of film club is… you do not talk about… wait I’ve got that wrong… [Pulls out piece of paper] The second rule is, no smoking.)

18 Responses to “Got me a movie, I want you to know”


  1. 1 Annie Mole January 12, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    I reckon a number of people would be up for this.

    The Xmas Tuttle was a showing of Brazil at the ICA which was great fun.

    On New Year’s day a gaggle of Twitterers went to see The Spirit which was also fun.

    Through blogging I’ve been invited to some good screenings too. You might not want it sponsored but I bet it wouldn’t be too hard to find some film companies keep to put on small screenings for Twitterers occasionally.

    You should chat to @Sizemore & @TigersHungry to see if they’ve got any thoughts on this too.

  2. 2 Marie F January 12, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Great idea- as Annie mentioned my (tigershungry) ears pricked up at the mention of twitter and film. I know there have been tuttle screenings at the ICA- but another good venue you should talk to is the Roxy. I have a contact there if you want to get in touch. Good sized screen and bar and they often show classic film double bills for free.

    Also if you were ever interested in screening films pre release to Twitter peeps then we here at Soda (the film distributors I work for) are always keen to organise/ be involved with more social media screenings.

  3. 3 James Graham January 12, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    Myself and a couple of friends of mine looked into setting up a film society last year (back in the day I used to help run the Manchester University Film Society, back when it showed actual 35mm film). The costs looked prohibitive, but we didn’t look into it very much before moving on to other things, getting drowned in work, etc.

    The legal stuff is all on the BFFS website. On the other hand, if you are just talking about turning up to a cinema and seeing whatever happens to be on, that is obviously a lot easier.

    Another idea: I keep meaning to try organising a DVD swap shop. Turn up to a pub with a bag of (good) DVDs you don’t want any more and, erm, swap them with each other (I’m not sure about the legal situation if money were to change hands – it would certainly be taxable – either way it wouldn’t really be in keeping with the spirit of the day).

    Personally speaking I’ve got loads of DVDs that I enjoyed but will almost certainly never watch again and I’m sure most other people are in the same boat. Why not combine our strengths?

  4. 4 Sam January 12, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    That sounds great, I’d come along to a little twitter film club.

  5. 5 Evan Shaw Blackerby January 12, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    even though I’m not in London. Sounds interesting!

  6. 6 Kai Chan Vong January 12, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    Sounds like fun! 😀

    @anniemole – As much as people didn’t enjoy the spirit, I really enjoyed it and it was nice to see people again.

  7. 7 Melinda Seckington January 12, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Great idea! I’ve been thinking about something like a film club for a while now, a Twitter film club would be a perfect solution. I’d definitely be up for something like that.

    What would also be interesting to me is watching the films yourself at home, and just meeting up at a bar/cafe to discuss them. Screenings would be more fun, but I wonder how regular you can make that.

    Let me know if you need any help organizing, I’m always happy to help 🙂

  8. 8 Will January 12, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    Certainly sounds like a good idea to me. Would like to have been able to make Brazil at Tuttle. And I do love Kind Hearts and Coronets.

  9. 9 Utku January 12, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Count me in.

    As long as the one above who enjoyed “The Spirit” doesn’t get to pick. 😉

  10. 10 AlisonW January 12, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    Sounds a great idea.

    Of course, if this counts as incest, country dancing cannot be far behind …

  11. 11 dansumption January 12, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    Sounds good to me, count me in!

  12. 12 Gary Andrews January 12, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Wow. I never thought a rambling half-idea would be so popular 🙂 This is why I love Twitter.

    Thanks for all the support, suggestions and offers of help. Melinda, Marie et al, I’ll be in touch when I get a spare moment, definitely, so we can convert a rambling thought into something concrete!

    Alison, I’m originally from Devon via Wales. I come from a family of country dancers, so will be enforcing a dosey-do before every screening…

  13. 13 Red Duffman January 12, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    I’m in. As long as I can bore people with my Twitter DVD Commentary idea 🙂

  14. 14 cowfish January 12, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    I’d definitely be up for coming along. As Annie said @sizemore’s been talking about various movie clubs for a while, so he might have some more ideas. I’d be up for giving a hand if you need more of them.

    I also like the idea of a ‘watch at home’ bookclub style film club – maybe with twitter as a pre-meetup conversation medium and during-watching commentary track?

    (@cowfish)

  15. 15 Michal January 12, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Sounds great. I’d also be up for it. Central London sounds good, but we can vary the venues to make it easier for people from more remote parts of London to come (just like you did with Dirty South Twit) but also to experience/test various venues. Just an idea, of course….

  16. 17 Lloyd Davis January 13, 2009 at 8:32 am

    Gary, more screenings are definitely part of the Tuttle plan at the ICA – keep an eye on http://tuttleclub.wordpress.com and come on down one Friday morning anyway 🙂

  17. 18 Gary Andrews January 13, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Cool, thanks for that Lloyd. I’ve been meaning to get down to Tuttle but Friday mornings are usually a busy time for me, alas.


Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

