Gary Elsewhere

Over at Soccerlens, I lament the current state of football and try to give a few reasons why it’s gone a bit, well, wrong.

I’d also like to point out this was written before I went to Dagenham to watch Exeter play last night, which was one of those games that reminds you just why you love football.

Nonetheless, the sentiment of the article stands. I’m probably going to be chased from city to city with burning pitchforks, mind, as I’ve criticised most Premier League clubs. It’s not that I have anything against the clubs per se, it’s just part of a wider malaise.

3 Responses to “Gary Elsewhere”


  1. 1 Andy Sammons January 24, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    I think the guys posting on your comment at soccerlens have missed the point a bit. I would focus on the Kaka deal more simply because it would have been the first “money move” prizing a guy away at from a club he loves to one that does not befit him simply for the money. That was something which might only be temporarily avoided for now. The paradox is that the glamour and the glitz, and the awesome stadiums/players are now synonymous with cash. I would like people to think about how this will effect the lower league clubs more, with the bigger clubs being more and more commercially enslaved. The real nerve centre of football is still with is in some way, but I think that with the free market being applied to something as non-sensical and irrational as love of a football team, that the two can only go hand in hand before something crashes miserably…

  2. 2 vineyard April 6, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    Thanks a great deal of for supplying these kinds of an interesting and
    exceptional insight into this appealing and debatable matter!

  3. 3 courage to chase your dreams May 14, 2013 at 3:32 am

    Good blog you have here.. It’s hard to find excellent writing like yours nowadays. I seriously appreciate people like you! Take care!!


Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

