Mission accomplished: League One here we come

We can get back to normal now, the football season is over and Exeter City have secured a fantastic back-to-back promotion to League One. When you consider six years ago we were days away from liquidation, it’s an amazing achievement.

It’s not something I EVER thought I’d witness as a City fan and I’m still pinching myself as I look at the teams we’ll be playing next season. Norwich, Charlton, Southampton and possibly Leeds, plus a couple of great local derbies against Yeovil and Bristol Rovers.

Needless to say, Saturday afternoon at the rather bizarre Don Valley Stadium (hopefully Rotherham can vacate the athletics stadium asap as it does them no favours either) ranks among one of the best of my football-supporting life.

I won’t bore you any longer on here, but predictably I’ve got a piece up on Soccerlens about Exeter, so go read.

I also imagine it’ll be discussed in the twofootedtackle.com podcast tonight as well. Being the host has it’s advantages…

Ok, now I’ll get back to media, t’interweb, journalism and PR, aye?

2 Responses to “Mission accomplished: League One here we come”


  1. 1 Super Leeds June 17, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    Looks like we got you for the first game – http://www.marchingontogether.co.cc/2009/06/17/200910-fixtures-released/

    Should be an interesting one with us being favourites for the title (again) and you being newly promoted.

    All the best for the new season anyway,

    Dave

  2. 2 Gary Andrews June 17, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    I’m really looking forward to this one and for Exeter fans I don’t think we could have asked for a better opening day fixture – this is the game most fans can’t wait to go to and, as you say, it should be a very interesting match.

    I’ve never been to Elland Road either, so I can’t wait to visit and see the Grecians run out there. Hope the Leeds fans enjoy their trip to St James Park in the new year đŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

del.icio.us

Top Posts

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com

