Princes, paupers and probably not even peasants

Tomorrow night will be the third football match I’ll have attended in four days, and a third completely different type of football in the process.

On Saturday there was a trip up the Northern Line to watch Exeter beat Barnet 1-0 and go third in League 2 in the process.

Yesterday was a visit to White Hart Lane to watch ‘Arry Redknapp’s new charges take on a woeful Bolton team that could have been defeated by either of the two sides I saw the day before.

Tomorrow, Two Footed Tackle’s Chris and I will be heading south of the river to watch Tooting and Mitcham United take on Harrow Borough. For some reason, I can’t type the word Harrow without thinking of Kim Il-Jong from Team America: World Police.

I’d imagine tomorrow’s trip will be a complete contrast to both the lower reaches of the football league and the Premier League. From the thousands, to the few thousands to the just-over-a-hundreds, there’s always something heartening to see so many people turning out to watch any level of football, all with their own stories and history of the club. it’s kind of why I keep watching all levels of the game week in, week out.

As you can guess, the excessive football watching is part of the reason it’s a bit quiet on here. That, and other stuff. The upshot of it all is I’ve been so knackered that I fell asleep in front of my computer last night whilst in the middle of writing my Soccerlens piece. That one, I suspect, will need some serious subbing and alterations when I go back to it tonight.

1 Response to “Princes, paupers and probably not even peasants”


  1. 1 Chris Nee October 27, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    Really looking forward to it. Our trip to Vale Farm gave me a real footballing boost, showed that football has a soul (something we should discuss tomorrow, further to a brief drunken chat at the Shoreditch Twit). Following the Man City takeover, I’m hoping T&MU will re-assure me again.


Leave a comment




del.icio.us

RSS What I’m Twittering about

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
October 2008
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Throw letters together and send them to me

Yes, this is my name. And my email. Use it wisely or you're not getting a biscuit with your tea: garyllewellynandrews [at] gmail [dot] com